National team debutants feted for top award

Kenya National team debutants Kennedy Munialo and Danstone Wabwire are among the nominees for the 5th Magharibi Michezo Awards top award to be held on the 23rd December 2017 in Bungoma County. The award which has previously featured top players in the Kenya hockey fraternity is an award that recognizes sports personalities who have grown, developed and/or nurtured talent in Western Kenya and have been consistent, influential and outstanding in team performance throughout the year and should have also played an inspiring role in the development of sports talent in the region.

Male Player of the Year

1. Constant Wakhura ( Butali Warriors)

The former Strathmore University defender was one of the outstanding players in Coach Meshack Senge’s side as they won the 2016 Premier League title. Started his hockey career as a goalkeeper in St. Anthonys Boys Kitale and later transferred to Friends School Kamusinga as a defender, he has since then been a common figure in the Kenya Hockey national team.

2. Kennedy Munialo ( Wazalendo)

The friends School Kamusinga alumnus has been instrumental in his team’s performance this season earning him a place in the national team for the 2017 Afriica Cup of Nations in Ismalia.

3. Allan Inungu ( Sikh Union Nairobi)

Being a common figure in the national team, Inungu has been instrumental in his team’s top perfomance this season, and notably helped in guiding Kenya Police to the 2016 Africa Cup of Club Championships final. The Musingu High School alumnus coached and developed by veteran Mike Malungu is one of the best midfielders in Kenya.

4. George Mutira (Chase Sailors)

The towering talisman has played a key role in the national team and Chase Sailors. The former national team skipper has had a good record this season despite his side’s bad form this season.

5. Francis Esikuri ( Sikh Union Nairobi)

The Friends School Kamusinga alumnus has been instrumental in the national team alongside teammate Inungu having netted six goals this season for his side Sikh Union Nairobi.

6. Chris Wokila, Victor Osiche (Green Sharks)

The Green Sharks attacking duo of Wokila and Osiche has been one of the best this season. The Kakamega High School and Friends School Kamusinga alumnus respectively played a key role in Green Sharks top performance in the 2017 Premier league.

7. Maxwell Fuchaka  (Butali Warriors)

The Butali Warriors defender has been instrumental in his team’s perfomance this season and the national team, the Friends School Kamusinga alumnus is also the National team captain.

8. Alpha Mutsambi ( Strathmore University)

Little known by many, the Strathmore University player a Kakamega High School alumnus has been at his best this season, the budding talent is one of Coach Senge’s favorites in the team list and has also been nominated in the Most Promising category.

Most promising male player

1. Danstone Wabwire ( Multimedia University)

The Multimedia University forward has been one of the amazing talents that shone this year notably making a breakthrough to the national team for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Ismailia.

2. Dave Makori ( Kenyatta University)

The Kakamega High School alumnus is one of the best players in the Premier league showing great potential. The Kenyatta University defender has been a key player in his side’s campaign this season.

Female player of the year

1.Pauline Naise (Chase Amira)

The speedy forward has been on the limelight appearing for the Harambee Starlets and the hockey national team in a span of less than one year. The St. Cecilia Misikhu alumnus has shown great performance this season inspiring her side to a nice third place in the league so far.

2. Sandra Vodoti (USIU-A)

The Kenyan International and Mukumu Girls alumnus has been a player to watch this season.

3. Charity Juma ( Vikings)

The St. Cecilia Misikhu Girls alumnus has been a common figure and a key player to Vikings this season despite their poor form.

Full nominees list:

Male Player of the Year 

Kennedy Munialo – Wazalendo

Constant Wakhura – Butali

Francis Esikuri – Nairobi Sikh

George Mutira – Chase Sailors

Allan Inungu – Nairobi Sikh

Maxwell Wakhungu – Butali

Alpha Mutsambi – Strathmore

Chris Wokila – Greensharks

Victor Osiche – Greensharks

Female Player of the Year  

Pauline Naise – Chase Amira

Sandra Vodoti – USIU-A

Charity Juma – Vikings

Flavian Mutiva – Telkom

Ndombela Sikwata – Sliders

Most promising male

Wayne Kipkorir – Musingu High School

Gilbert Okanga – Kakamega High School

Paul Navagi – Musingu High School

Brian Onditi – Musingu High School

Dave Makori – Kenyatta University

Kennedy Munialo – Wazalendo

Alpha Mutsambi – Strathmore University

Danstone Wabwire – Multimedia University

Most promising female

Samantha Simiyu – St Cecilia Misikhu

Damaris Nduta – Tigoi Girls High School

Purity Odinga – St Cecilia Misikhu

Phanice Sikhoya – Kituni Secondary School.

Valentine Menjesa – Mukumu Girls

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *