KHU names provisional National teams ahead of Olympics qualifiers

In a bid to present a strong outfit in both the men and women sides and seek to secure a slot in the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Olympics, the national field hockey governing body Kenya Hockey Union (KHU) has named a 25 man provisional squad in both the men’s and women’s category. With less than a month to the bully off of the tournament in South Africa, the coaches are confident that Kenya will put up a great fight and earn qualification to the 2020 Olympics.
The teams are expected to hit residential camp as preparation to the tournament hits top gear. Despite challenges here and there, the squads are ready for the challenge ahead of them. The national teams which participated in the just concluded Nairobi Sikh Astro turf launch tournament will have a series of friendlies in a bid to sharpen and polish up the wanting areas. Kenya men will start the 2020 Olympic campaign on the 12th against neighbors Uganda while the ladies will square it out on day 2 against hosts South Africa.
The provisional squads are as follows:
KHU Senior men Provisional Squad
Goal Keepers
Simon Odhiambo (Sikh Union Nairobi),  Linus Sang (Butali Warriors), Prince Omollo (Park Road Badgers), Samuel Silong (USIU-A)


Robert Masibo (Kenya Police), Ken Munialo, John Rioba (Wazalendo), Constant Wakhura (Butali Warriors), Paul Omariba (Strathmore University), Obare Otora (Green Sharks), Sam Ratia (USIU-A),


Frankline Wahongo (Strathmore University), Ivan Ludiali (Western Jaguars),Moses Ademba, Francis Kariuki (Butali Warriors), John Kaloti (Park Road Badgers), Clayson Luvanda (Green Sharks), Willis Okeyo (Kenya Police)


Festus Onyango (Strathmore University), Douglas Nyerere (Sailors Hockey Club), Danston Baraza, Richard Njuki (Wazalendo), Arnold Marango (KCAU), Amos Barkibir (Butali Warriors), Robinson Omutekete (Western Jaguars)

The provisional squad of the Kenya National men’s hockey team during the Sikh Union tournament | Photo Magongo Kenya

KHU Senior women Provisional Squad

Quinter Achieng Okore (UoN), Nouvelle Becca Owino (USIU-A), Cynthia Akinyi Onyango (Telkom)


Beatrice Wangui Mbugua (USIU-A), Jane Wanjiru Muragu Bariti Diana Awino (Strathmore University) Flavia Mutiva Mmogi, Lucy Wangechi Wachira (Telkom)


Marion Diana Akinyi, RuthAdhiambo (Strathmore), Ashlyn Linda Akinyi (Lakers), Grace Makokha Akumu, Harriette Night Akinyi (USIU-A), Caroline Wangechi Guchu,Tracy Nungari Karanja, Lillian Felesya Aura (Telkom), Leah Nyang’oro Omwadho (Amiras), Shalyn Nabifo, Rachael Nduta Ngari, Sheila Chenany (Oranje Leonas)


Rhoda Nyambura Kuria (USIU-A), Gilly Okumu Okumu (Strathmore) Maureen Okumu Arianda (Telkom), Pauline Naise (Amiras), Alice Aoko Owiti (Lakers)

The technical teams of both teams are now having a new task at hand and it is to trim the teams to the final 18 who will travel to South Africa for the championship that will kick off on August 12, 2019 in Stellenbosch.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *