Ghana To Host Africa Cup for Club Champions Tournament in January

The 2018 edition of Africa Cup for Club Champions (ACCC) tournament will be held at the Theodosia Okoh Hockey Stadium, Ghana, from 20th-28th January 2018.

This was revealed through an official press release signed by the Secretary General of Ghana Hockey Federation (GHF) Mr. Nashiru Yakubu on Wednesday January 3, 2018. The West African country got the nod to host the prestigious continental showpiece during Africa Hockey Federation’s (AfHF) last congress held in Ismailia, Egypt back in November 2017.

This will be the fourth time for Ghana as the hosts as they seek to emerge victorious in the tournament for the first time ever, with the hosting rights providing a slight advantage over the rest of the pack.

Men’s category

In the Men’s category, Ghana will be represented by two teams namely GRA Hockey Team of Ghana Revenue Authority and Trustees Hockey Team of SSNIT. Egyptian side El-Sharkia Club will also be in contention alongside country mates Eastern Company Club, who are the defending champions after securing the title in 2016. Nigerian clubs Niger Flickers Hockey Club and Police Machine Hockey Club sum up the six-team table.

Strathmore University had initially been listed to represent Kenya but unforeseen circumstances have made it difficult for them to honor the tourney.

Ladies’ category

In the Women’s category, defending champions Telkom Hockey Club will be on the hunt for a third successive continental trophy and are the favorites after lifting the title in 2015 and 2016. They go into the tournament at the heart of an impressive seventeen-match winning streak which has seen them perched 14 points clear at the summit of the Kenya Hockey Union (KHU) Women’s Premier League table.

Joining them will be Strathmore University (Scorpions) who are also from Kenya, with the students seeking to disrupt Telkom’s dominance on the continental front.

The two Kenyan sides will however face stiff competition from GRA Hockey Team of Ghana Revenue Authority, who have been consistent in the Africa Hockey Federation club championships since 2012 and were last year’s losing finalists. The other team from hosts Ghana is Police Hockey Club.

Nigerian side KADA Queens Hockey Club, who settled for bronze in last year’s tourney, will be hoping to go a step further alongside country mates Yobe Desert Queens Hockey Club.


Preparations for the eight-day contest are still ongoing with more details and match schedules expected in due course of the week.

For the tournament to be a success, a Local Organizing Committee (LOC) chaired by Mr. Kwame B. D. Essah has been put in place to spearhead the planning.

The Africa Hockey Federations (AfHF) has already appointed Mr. Mark Taljard (South Africa) and Ms.Hulda Ambe from Nigeria as Tournament Directors, with Professor Ediga Agbo of Nigeria being selected as the Umpires Manager. Ghanaians Mr. Richard Bayitse and Ms. Joyce Datsa will meanwhile be the Technical Officials.

AfHF President Mr. Ahmed Seif is expected to lead the Executive Board and other high profile dignitaries in attending the tournament.

About Africa Cup for Club Champions (ACCC) tournament

The ACCC is an annual prestigious tournament for top clubs across the African continent.
The tournament has a history going back to 1988 when Sharkia of Egypt hosted and won the inaugural competition. Since then, the event has run every year, except 2001. Now in its 28th year, Sharkia has won the trophy 22 times in total. The team had high hopes of adding to that medal haul this time around but they came up against tough opposition in the form of Ghana Police, whose 1-0 win put the Egyptians out of contention for a semi-final slot.
The women’s event started eight years later in 1996, so this edition was the 20th edition. Orange of Kenya have been the dominant force in the women’s competition, winning the trophy nine times, including, with this win, the past five editions.

GRA Hockey Team of Ghana Revenue Authority (Ghana)
Trustees Hockey Team of SSNIT (Ghana)
Eastern Company Club -defending champions (Egypt)
ElSharkia Club (Egypt)
Niger Flickers Hockey Club (Nigeria)
Police Machine Hockey Club (Nigeria)

GRA Hockey Team of Ghana Revenue Authority (Ghana)
Police Hockey Club (Ghana )
Telkom Hockey Club – defending champions (Kenya)
Strathmore Hockey Club (Kenya)
KADA Queens Hockey Club (Nigeria)
Yobe Desert Queens Hockey Club (Nigeria)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *